Release date: November 26, 2018

The Bossier Parish Community College Theatre Program’s production of the nostalgic bittersweet comedy, A Texas Romance, was honored Nov. 17 with awards at the Arkansas Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF) in Arkadelphia, Arkansas. The three-day festival of theatre productions from colleges and universities across the state was hosted by Henderson State University.

BPCC Theatre’s A Texas Romance won a top honor of “Respondents’ Choice Award.” This award indicates the official festival adjudicators’ selection for excellence in the theatrical production, and it qualifies the show to be considered for presentation at the Region VI KCACTF Festival to be held in San Abilene, Texas, in February 2019. Dr. Ray Scott Crawford, dean of Communication and Performing Arts, directed the production, and the Cavalier Players produced the show, which was presented in the Stephen W. Slaughter Theatre, earlier this year.

The production also received the “Directors’ Choice Award,” voted on by all of the directors of the participating shows at the festival. This award is reserved for the one play at the festival that best demonstrates excellence in all aspects of theatre production. The winning show is designated as the Arkansas festival directors’ choice for the inclusion in the regional KCACTF festival in February.

David White, Performing Arts Technical Coordinator, received the “Excellence in Scenic Design” award for his design for A Texas Romance.

The cast members of the show also received individual awards. For excellence in acting, Allison Miller and Michael Davis received Irene Ryan Nominations for their roles as Daisy and Garland in A Texas Romance. The two students will now compete in Texas in February against approximately 400 other students from Region VI for a chance to win the Irene Ryan National Scholarship and appear at the Kennedy Center at National Festival. Jasey Gilbert, BPCC Theatre graduate, received the “Excellence in Acting” award for her portrayal of the character Doris.

Paul Belcher, BPCC Performing Arts Manager, organized BPCC’s participation in the festival. David White, BPCC Technical Coordinator, coordinated back stage efforts for the production. Additional BPCC students attending as the technical crew for the show were Aislinn Kimbrough, Annie Barker, Michael Rogers, Tre Gay, Myeleke Saimon, and William Price.

The KCACTF encourages, recognizes, and celebrates the finest and most diverse work produced in university and college theatre programs across the country. Region VI includes Arkansas, Oklahoma, Louisiana, Texas, Missouri, and New Mexico. Eight plays will be chosen from this six state area to perform at the Region VI festival in San Abilene, Texas, Feb. 24-28, 2019.