Title IX: Know Your Rights!


What is Title IX?

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 prohibits discrimination based on sex in education programs and activities in federally funded schools at all levels. If any part of a school district or college receives any Federal funds for any purpose, all of the operations of the district or college are covered by Title IX. Title IX protects students, employees, applicants for admission and employment, and other persons from all forms of sex discrimination, including discrimination based on gender identity or failure to conform to stereotypical notions of masculinity or femininity. All students (as well as other persons) at recipient institutions are protected by Title IX – regardless of their sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, part or full time status, disability, race, or national origin – in all aspects of a recipient’s educational programs and activities.


Title IX Regulations

On May 7, 2020, the United States Department of Education’s Office of Civil Rights issued amended regulations governing college and university handling of sexual misconduct under Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972. Bossier Parish Community College (BPCC) is committed to providing an equitable, inclusive educational and working environment where sex and gender discrimination and sexual misconduct are not tolerated. Therefore, just as all educational institutions that receive federal funding are required to ensure polices are compliant with new regulations, BPCC will determine how to adjust existing policies to comply with new regulations no later than August 14, 2020.


Nondiscrimination Statement

Bossier Parish Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, gender, age, religion, qualified disability, marital status, veteran’s status, or sexual orientation in admission to its programs, services, or activities, in access to them, in treatment of individuals, or in any aspect of its operations. Bossier Parish Community College does not discriminate in its hiring or employment practices.

Coordinator for Section 504 and ADA
Angie Cao, Student and Disability Services Specialist
Disability Services, F254, 6220 East Texas Street, Bossier City, LA 71111
Phone number: 318-678-6511
Email: acao@bpcc.edu
Days/hours available: Monday – Friday — 8:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m.

Equity/Compliance Coordinator
Tierney “Teri” Bashara, Director of Human Resources
Human Resources Office, A-105
6220 East Texas Street
Bossier City, LA 71111
Phone: 318-678-6056
Hours: 8:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Monday – Friday, excluding holidays and weekends.

Title IX Coordinator for Athletics
Name/Title: John Rennie, Athletic Director
Office Address: Athletic Department, 6220 East Texas Street, Bossier City, LA 71111
Phone number: 318-678-6314
Days/Hours Available: 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Monday-Friday, excluding holidays and weekends.


BPCC Web Site Accessibility

The BPCC web site pages are checked using WC3 validationWill open new browser window or tab. WC3 follows the Web Content Guidelines as noted in the Americans with Disabilities ActWill open new browser window or tab. We strive to make the BPCC web site experience as accessible as possible to all individuals. However, due to the large variety and amount of content on our site, and ever-changing world of technology, there may be portions that are not accessibility compliant. If you find any aspect of our web site for which this is the case, please email the Interim Student and Disability Services Specialist at acao@bpcc.edu or call 318-678-6511 and we will strive to correct the issue wherever possible.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

To learn more about the College’s ADA policy and how to access ADA services, visit the Disability Services page. Students are encouraged to visit Building D, room 108 or call 318-678-6020.


Confidential Advisors

Marjoree Harper mharper@bpcc.edu 318-678-6144
Yolanda Cooper ycooper@bpcc.edu 318-678-6102
Gina Rider grider@bpcc.edu 318-678-6284
Peggy Fuller pfuller@bpcc.edu 318-678-6133
Angie Cao acao@bpcc.edu 318-678-6511
Sharonda Mikle smikle@bpcc.edu 318-678-6258
Charles Reed creed@bpcc.edu 318-678-6312
Alexandra Ekstrom aekstrom@bpcc.edu 318-678-6295

Responsible Employees

Tiffany Sandifer tsandifer@bpcc.edu 318-678-6597
Shelli Ulrich sulrich@bpcc.edu 318-678-6358
Quintina Miles qmiles@bpcc.edu 318-678-6205
Lesa Taylor-Dupree ltaylordupre@bpcc.edu 318-678-6348
Carolyn Burroughs cburroughs@bpcc.edu 318-678-6082
Kay Boston kboston@bpcc.edu 318-678-6064
Megan Bange mbange@bpcc.edu 318-678-6554
Vicki Dennis vdennis@bpcc.edu 318-678-6213
Ray Scott Crawford rcrawford@bpcc.edu 318-678-6108
Charley Cameron ccameron@bpcc.edu 318-678-6158
Jimmy Stewart jistewart@bpcc.edu 318-678-6195
Connie McConathy cmcconathy@bpcc.edu or mcconathyc@nsula.edu 318-357-5362

More Information


See Also:


For further information you may contact us at studentservices@bpcc.edu.